Samuel Eto’o backs controversy-stricken Serge Aurier

Cameroon’s football legend Samuel Eto’o has join the team of elite footballers to defend under-fire Ivorian and Paris St Germain right-back Serge Aurier after his ‘homophobic comments’ on Periscope against coach Laurent Blanc, and his jibe against teammates Angel Di Maria and Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

The Antalyspor captain and four time African player of the year gave his take on the issue at 2pm GMT on his facebook page that read:

“Mistakes are human. Beyond mistakes, the most important things are the lessons we learn from them. Isn’t it said that a fault confessed is half redressed? Keep your head up young brother Serge Aurier and look behind only if it helps you move forward. #AllonsSeulement #Aurier19 #WeLiveAndWeLearn ‘’.

The controversial Ivorian defender in the original message on periscope before their Champions League match with Chelsea also involve calling Angel Di Maria a ‘clown’ and, a supposed  ‘favoritism’ towards fellow teammate Zlatan Ibrahimović.

Aurier in a PSG TV interview apologized for his comments saying: “I made a big mistake, I am here to say sorry to the coach, the club and my team-mates, and to the supporters because they are the most important people. I want to apologise especially to the coach, I can only thank him for all he has done for me since I arrived in Paris.

“He wanted me and since I came here everything has gone really well. I owe him a lot and that is why I apologise sincerely to him for what was said, which I deeply regret.

“I will accept any sanction the club impose on me regarding this incident. I made a mistake, it was unforgivable and I am ready to face all the consequences.”

It is not the first time Aurier has been in trouble over comments made on social media. He was banned for three games by Uefa after last season’s Champions League game against Chelsea, after a video posted on Facebook showed him labelling the referee Bjorn Kuipers a “dirty son of a bitch” over the dismissal of Ibrahimovic.

His team Paris St Germain reacted swiftly with an indefinite suspension on the defender. The club’s president Al-Khelaifi said:

“I took the decision to dismiss Serge Aurier. Paris Saint-Germain is a very strong institution which nobody can touch.

“This video, filmed in a private setting, clearly contains unacceptable comments about team-mates and especially coach Laurent Blanc.

“PSG wishes to express its fullest support to coach Blanc and to to the players who have rightly felt offended by Aurier’s remarks.”

Samuel Eto’o is not the only player to stand behind Aurier. He joins Zinedine Zidane, Didier Drogba, Karim Benzema and the Touré brothers; Yaya and Kolo.

By Ngoran Guilio.

Leave a Reply

