AFCON 2013: 22 Lions Called to Camp without Eto’o, Mbia & Ekotto.

22 Lions Called to Camp
Cameroon will enter the campaign on February 29 with an encounter against little known, Guinea Bissau.

To this effect, the technical staff of the Indomitable Lions yesterday in a press conference in Yaounde, released a list of 22 players to take part in the expedition to Bissau.

The list comprises familiar names with the exclusion as would be expected of team captain, Eto’o Fils and his vice, Enoh Eyong suspended by the disciplinary committee of Fecafoot.

However, there is the conspicuous absence of players like Benoit Assou Ekotto, Benoit Angbwa and Jean II Makoun. Quizzed on these absences, Denis Lavagne said Angbwa and Makoun had written to the federation exercising solidarity with Eto’o to say they will no longer play for Cameroon until the sanction is lifted.

As for Assou Ekotto, he is quoted as saying he wants to give preference to his professional career with his club side Tottenham.

However, certain loopholes persist in the list like the summoning of players who have not been in active duty for quite some time now like Kameni Carlos and Stephane Mbia. Already a first forfeiture was recorded on the list with the injury sustained by Benjamin Moukandjo.

Denis Lavagne disclosed that his contract has already been signed by the new minister of Sports and Physical Education, Adoum Garoua but was very reluctant to reveal the terms of the contract sending journalist back to his declaration when he was appointed which stated that he was going to manage the national team for two years with the objective of qualifying for the 2013 AFCON and 2014 World Cup.

Owing to time constraints, the players are going to regroup in Paris on February 27 for onward journey to Guinea Bissau where there will be just one training session on February 28 before then encounter on February 29.

For this reason, the training is going to be based on recovering the fitness of players than working out tactics. As to criticisms that he wasn’t fit for the job, Denis Lavagne said only good results will shut the criticisms.

Cameroon Tribune

The 22 players called (source: Fecafoot)

1. Nkoulou Nicolas (Olympique de Marseille – France)
2. Aboubakar Vincent (AS Valenciennes – France)
3. Bedimo Henri (Montpellier – France)
4. Bienvenu Henri Ntsama (Fenerbache – France)
5. Bong Gaetan (Valenciennes – France)
6. Chedjou Aurelien (Lille – France)
7. Choupo Moting Eric (Mayence – Allemagne)
8. Feudjou Aurelien (Cotonsport – Cameroun)
9. Kameni Carlos Idriss (Malaga – Espagne
10. Kana Biyik Jean Armel (Rennes – France)
11. Kweuke Leonard (Sparta – Rép. Tchèque)
12. Mandjeck Georges (Auxerre – France)
13. Matip Joel (Schalke 04 – Allemagne )
14. Moukandjo Benjamin (AS Nancy – France)
15. Ndy Assembe Guy (AS Nancy – France)
16. Nguemo Landry (Bordeaux – France)
17. Nounkeu Dany (Gaziantespor – Turquie)
18. Nyom Allan (Grenade – Espagne )
19. Salli Edgar (Monaco – France)
20. Song Alexandre (Arsenal – Angleterre)
21. Zoua Jacques (Bale – Suisse)
22. Mbia Stéphane (Marseille – France)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s