‘I’m happy with my choice of Anzhi’ – Samuel Eto’o

The former Inter forward replied to those who feel his recent big-money move to Russia could be a mixed blessing to him as a sportsman

Anzhi Makhachkala summer signing Samuel Eto’o says his decision to leave Serie A for the Russian Premier League brings enough joy to sustain him as a sportsman, even though a number of pundits, especially in his homeland of Cameroon, believe the three-time Champions League winner has effectively brought to an end his brilliant career.

The world’s highest paid footballer told Gazzetta dello Sport that he had never dreamt of drifting to that part of the world to play football, but he loves the “liveliness” from supporters.

“I am happy with my choice to Anzhi, even though I never thought one day I’d come to this part of the world to play football,” Eto’o said.

“It’s quite funny playing here, and during training sessions, it’s like a theatre. Each foreign player has a personal interpreter. And when the head coach gives instructions, you see six to seven interpreters jumping forth to explain to their clients. I’ve never seen this before. It’s funny and interesting though.

“It’s a different kind of football altogether. I take a lot of blows, especially as a goal hunter, but for me it’s the same story everywhere.


“I have been hit as well, across all the teams I have played for, so it’s no big deal. And then the stadium is so small, you feel you are in Cesena’s home ground, but I love the liveliness from fans.”The Cameroon captain will not be playing in the Champions League this season, but hopes to help his side to realise their ambitions.

Anzhi are currently seventh in the Russian Premier League table after the 25th round of games.

Eto’o will be leading his country to Kinshasa to play DR Congo in the final round of the 2012 African Cup of Nations qualifying scheduled for October 7.

Goal.com

Leave a Reply

